Tuesday, July 14, 2009

Letter to Chairman, CBDT

Dear Comrade,

Placed hereunder is our letter to Chairman of date.


Manishinath Bhawan A/2/95 Rajouri Garden,New Delhi. 110 027.

www.itef.blogspot.com email: itefcentral@gmail.com.

Telefax. 2510 5321; 6543 1807


President: K.P. Rajagopal.                               Secretary General: Ashok B Salunkhe.



Dated: 14th July, 2009

Shri S.S. N. Moorthy,


Central Board of Direct Taxes,

North Block

New Delhi. 110 001.


Dear Sir,


            We are in receipt of the Board's letter in F.No. B. 12020/9/2009 Ad. Ix dated  9th July, 2009.  We, in this connection refer to the charter of demands which we have submitted along with our letter dated 6th July, 2009.  The issues included in the charter were the subject matter of discussion on several occasions with the Board.  We were assured of a positive settlement thereof.


The question of up-gradation of Grade Pay for Inspectors, Private Secretaries and Administrative officers arose from the notification issued by the Government on the acceptance of the 6th CPC recommendations.  The said notification was issued in August, 2008 i.e almost a year back. . This is an issue on which the Government has already taken a decision and the orders were to be issued with the approval of the Department of Expenditure.  But so far no order has been issued in respect of the employees of our department, while orders in respect of employees in other Departments of the Government of India have all been issued. It may be pertinent to mention in this connection that a similar matter concerning the Members of the CBDT was taken up and settled by the Board without any delay. 


            Despite assurances, all other issues have also been allowed to pend.  While this is the case in respect of the demands we have included in the charter, on the question of Departmental Examination, the Directorate have placed the notification and schedule of Examination on the Departmental Website today, though the date of his order is 10th July, 2009.  This had also  been the  subject matter of discussion the representatives of this Federation had with you in the last formal meeting, the minutes of which clearly specifies that the examination this year would be conducted in the old pattern.  We had a detailed discussion on this aspect with the Director (IT) and subsequently with the Member (Personnel).  We were informed by the Member that the Board has taken a decision to conduct the examination on the new pattern, whereas the earlier letter of the Director was to call for the objections from all  stake holders on the new pattern, as the Directorate has though it right to amend even the examination rules which were notified in 2004. We may bring to your kind notice that the Examination rules notified in 2004 was the product of extensive consultation with all concerned including this Federation by the Committee set up by the Board but was kept in abeyance as per the order of the Secretary Revenue for the formal notification of the recruitment rules of Inspectors, which incidentally has not been made till date.   We are not in a position to comprehend the urgency shown by the Directorate in this matter, while this Federation had agreed that the examination next year could be on the new pattern, when the candidates would have sufficient time to acquaint and comprehend the new syllabi. From the notification placed on the website we find that while Inspectors and Income tax Officers Examinations would be conducted under the new pattern, the Ministerial Staff Examination would be held this year under the old pattern.   Since the Board has indicated that a formal meeting would be held to discuss all these issues on 22nd, the Directorate could have atleast waited till such time  especially when the Board's letter addressed to this Federation has been put on the website of the IRS Officers on line. We are therefore, constrained to believe that the concerns and legitimate problems of employees are not being addressed to. 


            Thanking you,


Yours faithfully,


Ashok Salunkhe.

Secretary General.